I love you, Cake!

Lame? Yes. Embarrassing? Okay, maybe a little. Stopping me from posting it on Tumblr? No way!

My “I love you” Cake, was devoured by my very happy, loving boyfriend. He surprised me with flowers, I surprised him with cake. That’s pretty fair right? Anyway, needless to say it was a fun little one pan cake I spent 20 minutes decorating. If you need a quick idea for a present or a romantic gesture what’s better than something to fill your belly.

Recipe:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • Pink food colouring

——-

Combine all wet ingredients in a bowl, and combine all dry ingredients in seperate bowl. Combine both. Add pink food colouring for a funlovingtouch. Bake 35 min at 350, or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool, Ice, and Enjoy!

x

Tip: For a valentines looking cake, add red and white food colouring to the finish icing.

 

4 thoughts on “I love you, Cake!

  1. miyoreos September 19, 2012 / 7:42 pm

    That’s really adorable 🙂

    Do you have any piping tips? I love to bake and everything, but my piping isn’t quite the best :/

    • kirascake September 19, 2012 / 7:55 pm

      Thank you! & as lame as it sounds I find that it just takes a lot of practice, I have very shakey hands so I usually end up piping one or two bad cupcakes before I can actually relax and pipe out something smooth. Try baking off a dozen cupcakes and just pipe ideas on without really thinking them through. Sometimes working off the top of your head is easier than following a picture!
      ps, your monkey bread recipe looks delicious! I think I might have to try it 🙂

      • miyoreos September 19, 2012 / 11:36 pm

        Awesome 🙂 I’ll practice whenever I can!
        Thanks! It’s dangerously delicious though, I literally ate 1/3 of the cake before I realized what I was doing O.O

      • kirascake September 20, 2012 / 1:17 am

        Well that sounds like my kind of cake!! lol!

Leave a Reply

